Ambleside Masonic Lodge has been active in the village since 1899, first meeting in the Queens Hotel, (now the Ambleside Inn), later in the St John’s Ambulance Rooms and more recently in purpose built premises, (The Hillard Rooms), off Kelsick Road.
It has attracted many local men of standing in the community, amongst them the Le Flemings of Rydal Hall, William Heelis with his connections to Beatrix Potter. Mill owners, farmers, tradesmen, miners, boatmen and artists, all have joined this ancient philanthropic Society.
Freemasonry is the worlds oldest and largest Fraternity. It aims to promote Friendship, Morality, and Brotherly love among its members. ‘Making good men better- whilst raising funds for charity and the community.’ It is open to men from every race, religion, opinion and background. Worldwide it develops and strengthens the bonds of human experience between all peoples.
The Freemasons of Ambleside contribute thousands of pounds annually, in grants to local charities and good causes, also supporting youth groups and individuals with special needs. In every case these grants are awarded without publicity or fanfare, as giving in itself is sufficient reward.
The Hillard Rooms are modern, comfortable and well appointed, with a dining room for up to fifty persons, kitchen and bar all available to hire for public use.
Local men, over twenty one years of age, who are interested in joining the Lodge are welcome to come for a chat and look around at any time.
Telephone: 015394 32127 or to hire the Hillard Rooms.